How to migrate contacts from Floreysoft’s Shared Group to Shared Contacts

Shared Contacts for Gmail® is the best alternative for Floreysoft’s Shared Groups, which are shutting down their service in early 2022. Ex-Floreyfoft customers will be happy to discover all the additional features they will get with Shared Contacts for Gmail® (see comparison chart below). To migrate successfully from Floreysoft’s Shared Groups to Shared Contacts for […]

Shared Contacts for Gmail® is the best alternative for Floreysoft’s Shared Groups, which are shutting down their service in early 2022.

Ex-Floreyfoft customers will be happy to discover all the additional features they will get with Shared Contacts for Gmail® (see comparison chart below).

To migrate successfully from Floreysoft’s Shared Groups to Shared Contacts for Gmail®, the administrator of the Google Workspace domain (or of the Floreysoft’s contacts manager) should follow the following steps:

Time needed: 5 minutes.

How to Migrate Contacts from Floreysoft to Shared Contacts

  1. First, create a new spreadsheet in Google Drive


    A spreadsheet is necessary to store the sharing settings that you used to have in Floreysoft, in order to copy them later in Shared Contacts for Gmail®?

    Prepare a new spreadhseet to store your sharing settings

  2. Log into your Floreysoft shared groups manager


    You can access it on the URL www.sharedgroups.com

    log onto floreysoft shared groups manager

  3. Open the first group you want to migrate, select and copy all the collaborators inside the group you want to migrate


    Make sure to copy all the information from the top to the bottom of the group, including the group name, then do a Ctrl-C or a right-click > copy.

    select and copy all the contacts within the selected group

  4. Paste the selection into the spreadsheet.


    Paste by the menu Edit > Paste, or simply with a Crtl-V.

    paste these contacts on your google sheet

  5. If ‘Add to My Contacts’ is selected, follow step 6.


    The setting ‘Add to My Contacts’ is important to remember when migrating to Shared Contacts.

    If enabled follow step 6

  6. If ‘Add to My Contacts’ was selected, add an ‘x’ under ‘Add to My Contacts’


    This ‘x’ serves as a reminder that the setting must be enabled

     Indicate enabled button by adding an 'x'

  7. Delete the columns that are not necessary


    Make sure to keep the columns which show the users and their permissions

     delete the unnecessary columns

  8. Revoke access to all the collaborators in the shared group. This will remove the contacts in the label from their Google accounts.


    Repeat these 8 steps with all the shared labels that you have

    revoke access from all collaborators

  9. Sign in to your Shared Contacts for Gmail® dashboard.


    You will find your group(s) with the contacts that were part of that group

    Log into GSC and you will see your group with the contacts from that group

  10. Go to your spreadsheet, add a column next to the list of collaborators and add a comma in every row except the last row


    Don’t put anything in the last row.

    Add a column and add a comma to all lines except last, then copy the two column

  11. Copy collaborator lists with the comas

    Make sure you only select and copy Column C & D (row 3-7)


    Copy collaborator lists with the comas

  12. Click the share icon next to the label you want to share


    This will open a window where you can enter the collaborator list.

    Click on the share icon next to the label you would like to share

  13. Paste the contacts you copied from the spreadsheet and remove all the spaces between the commas and the contacts and click enter.


    By removing the spaces the app will identify the separate email addresses.

    Paste the contacts and remove all the spaces

  14. Click on ‘Share’


    Your page will reload to your Shared Contacts for Gmail® dashboard

    Click share

  15. Return to the spreadsheet to collect the permissions


    You will need to set these permissions again manually.

    Look at the access permission of the collaborators from the excel sheet and edit them in the GSC app

  16. To match the access permissions of the collaborators previously set in Floreysoft, open the dropdown menu below “Permission”


    Set the appropriate permission:

    – Read Only = View Only in Floreysoft
    – Can Edit = Edit Only in Floreysoft
    – Can Delete = Edit and Delete in Floreysoft
    – Can Reshare = Does not exist in Floreysoft. Will allows the user to reshare the same label with other users.

    click on the collaborators to define their access permissions

  17. Now all your collaborators can access your shared label(s) from their Google account or directly from their Shared Contacts for Gmail® dashboard.


    Unlike Flloreysoft’s Shared Groups, Shared Contacts for Gmail® allow you to create/update your contacts directly from the dashboard so that you won’t have to wait the synchronization from Google Contacts for the updates to be pushed to your users.


    Now all your collaborators can access your shared label(s) from their Google account or directly from their Shared Contacts for Gmail® dashboard.

What will change with Shared Contacts for Gmail®?

This chart gives a better understanding of the improvements in your contact management practice after transitioning from Floreysoft to Shared Contacts for Gmail® :

Floreysoft / Shared Contacts for Gmail® comparison chart

FloreysoftShared contacts for Gmail®
Web DashboardYESYES
Synchronization to Google Contacts labelsEvery 1 hourImmediate
Name of the groups of contacts“Groups”“Labels” or “Contact Lists”
Granular permissions (View Only, Can Edit, Can Delete, Can Share)YESYES
Synchronization from Google Contacts (for authorized users)YESImmediate (with Chrome)
else, 3 times per hour
Auto-Merge of duplicate contactsNOYES
Sharing with Users and Google GroupsNOYES
Sharing with other domain users and Gmail usersYESYES
Comment & mentions colleagues in ContactsNOYES
Manage shared contacts from Android devicesYESYES
Manage shared contacts from iOs devicesNOYES
Manage shared contacts from GmailYESYES
Manage shared contacts from Google DriveNOYES
Unlimited Contacts backupNOYES
Licensing SystemFor the whole Google domainPer user
Floreysoft and Shared Contacts for Gmail comparison chart

Back to Integrations
Back to resources