Create and Share Labels in Shared Contacts for Gmail

By creating contact labels (lists) in the Shared Contacts for Gmail web app, users labels will synchronize with their dashboard and their Google Contact interface instantly.. We want our users to experience instant data retrieval, and have made our synchronization and reflection time reflect this urgency.

Time needed: 1 minute.

To become a pro at creating label in the Shared Contacts for Gmail app, follow these simple steps:

  1. Create/Sign into your Shared Contacts for Gmail account, and create a new label by clicking on the addition icon.


    Step 1 - create a new label by clicking on the addition icon.

  2. Fill in your desired label name.


    Fill in your desired label name.

  3. Add as many collaborators as you would like to share this label with.

    Be sure to set the collaborators access permissions by clicking on the downward arrow to view all permission settings. In this step users can further select “Sync these shared contacts with your mobile devices and Outlook”, but don’t worry if you miss these steps as they can be managed and changed at anytime!
    Add as many collaborators as you would like to share this label with and set access permissions

  4. Click this addition icon to access the contacts you would like to have in this label. For this example, we are going to “Add an existing contact”.


    “Add an existing contact” to contact label

  5. Select the contacts you would like to appear in the chosen label.


    Select the contacts

  6. The contacts are successfully saved in the label, well done!


    contacts are successfully saved in the label


Troubleshooting

I have shared my contacts but my colleague cannot see the them?

Manually force a sync, and if the problems proceeds, it is likely the recipient did not accepted the invitation and should try accepting the invitation from an incognito window or a different browser. Alternatively, Log out of all Google accounts from that browser, Clean up all cookies and cache then log in to the correct account to accept the invitation.

How do I share my contacts with secondary domain users?

You can share with secondary domain users exactly the same way as you share with same domain users! Just click on the “Share” button and type in the address of the user you want to share with.

You did it! You can now enjoy the freedom of creating and sharing your own labels that sync instantly thanks to Shared Contacts for Gmail.

Subscribe to newsletter
Back to Knowledge Base
Back to resources