You Created a New Label in Google Contacts ; How to Synchronize it with Shared Contacts for Gmail® App

When you create a new label in Google Contacts, you don’t want to wait before it displays in your Shared Contacts for Gmail® (SCG) dashboard, because accessing information in real-time is crucial for all organisations.

Lets have a look at an example; Michael created and shared a contact label called “America” in his Google Contact Manager, however it has not yet reflected in his Shared Contacts for Gmail® dashboard.

To create your shared labels, we highly recommend creating them within the Shared Contacts for Gmail® app, as it will synchronize with Google instantly. When you create a new label, it will reflect in your dashboard in the next 5 minutes..

Normally, Shared Contacts for Gmail® retrieves users Google labels every 15 minutes. However, if users would like to activate the procedure, simply go in the app and click on the sync button.

Time needed: 1 minute.

If for some reason, you like to create labels from your Google Contact interface and want to activate a synchronization manually in SCG, follow these simple steps:

  1. Install the Google Contacts Plugin from the  Chrome Webstore.

    Follow all the prompts. The page will subsequently reload and take users to Google Contacts Dashboard.
     Install the Google Contacts Plugin from the Chrome Webstore.

  2. Log into your Gmail account > Google Apps Icon > Google Contacts.

    This icon on the top right hand corner, exhibits that the chrome extension has been integrated successfully.
    Log into your Gmail account

  3. By hovering your mouse over your newly created label, this “Share” icon allows you to manage your labels from your Google Contacts interface.


    “Share” icon allows you to manage your labels from your Google Contacts interface.

  4. The Chrome Extension allows users to share labels from their Google Contacts Interface.

    In the search bar provided, add all the collaborators you would like to share this label with, and hit “Share”.
    Chrome Extension allows users to share labels from their Google Contacts Interface.

  5. Now, lets show you how to manually enable a sync on your Shared Contacts for Google dashboard. Sign into your Shared Contacts for Google account.

    We recommend manually activating a sync when your newly created Google Contact labels have not appeared.
    manually enable a sync on your Shared Contacts for Google dashboard

  6. And there you have it! Your label will have synchronized.


    Your label will have synchronized.

It is important to remember, the speed of a synchronisation depends on circumstances such as the number of contacts you are sharing or adding into a label, as well as the number of collaborators you are sharing the label with.

However, if you want your changes to be synchronized instantly, we recommend to create and update your labels through our Web or mobile application.

Congratulations! We hope this tutorial helped and that your labels are syncing smoothly! If you want your changes to be synchronized instantly, we recommend to create and update your labels through our Web or mobile application.


Back to Knowledge Base
Back to resources