Google users can merge duplicated contacts to streamline and organize their contact book! If users have duplicated contacts or would like to simply merge various contacts from shared labels, Shared Contacts for Gmail® has you covered.
Time needed: 2 minutes.
Follow the steps below for a seamless merge:
If they belong to a shared label in which you have at least “Can Delete” permissions, which includes “Can Delete”, “Can Reshare” and “Is Owner”. If you don’t, ask the owner of the shared label to increase your permissions.
Users may be receiving shared labels from numerous admins/owners, so it is possible for users to receive the same contact but containing different information. When you try to merge multiple contacts into one, the changes revert to their original contact. This is because the user does not have the correct permissions to make this edit, thus the changes don’t stick. Users must ask the owner of the shared label to increase their permission level (as stated in step 2).
There you have it, merging made easy!