How To Give Permission To Re-share Google Contact Labels

With Shared Contacts for Gmail, you can easily share contact labels with your team members, whilst giving them permission to re-share them with others, when needed, and we are going to show you exactly how in the steps below!

Time needed: 1 minute.

Follow the steps below to give your collaborators access permission:

  1. Sign into your Shared contacts for Gmail account

  2. Click on the share icon of the label that contains the collaborator of whom you would like to be able to re-share.


    Click on the share icon of the label that contains the collaborator of whom you would like to be able to re-share

  3. Click the pull-down arrow next to the collaborator under permissions > Click ‘Can re-share’ > Click ‘Save changes’.


    Click the pull-down arrow next to the collaborator under permissions

  4. As you can see, changing the users access permission to ‘Can reshare’ was successful!


    changing the users access permission to ‘Can reshare’ was successful!


You can also change users access permissions of a label from the following Apps:

Your Mobile Device

Stay up to date and on the ball by sharing Google contacts directly from your iPhone or Android mobile devices, at any place or moment in time!

Download the Shared Contact for Gmail Mobile App > Click the “share” icon on the desired label > add collaborator if they are not already present in the label > ‘label successfully shared’ > re-enter sharing icon on the same label > click on the collaborators icon on the bottom left of the screen or the contact list icon on the top right hand corner in order to view collaborators > press on the current access permission on the collaborator you would like to change > choose “Can reshare”.

Have a look at the How to Share Google Contacts with your Mobile article for more insight.

Mobile Device - sharing Google contacts directly from your iPhone or Android mobile devices,

Google Contacts

If a user wants to share their Google contacts directly from his Google Contacts interface, they use the Shared Google Contacts Chrome Chrome plug in. Have a look at the step-by-step guide on How To Utilize Shared Contacts for Gmail® Chrome Extension

After installing the Chrome extension > hover over desired label and click on the share icon > add collaborators you would like to share this label with if you have not done so already > set access permissions from clicking the downward arrow of “View Only” (select “Can Reshare”) and choose selection of mobile and outlook sync for these collaborators.

Google Contacts - share Google contacts directly from your Google Contacts interface

Gmail

Thanks to the Shared Contacts Gmail Add-On built in directly from the ‘+’ icon on the right hand side of your Gmail interface, Gmail users have the luxury of sharing, adding and managing their contact labels on their Gmail dashboard.

Simply open the address book icon seen on the Add-in interface > select the label you would like to edit a collaborators access permissions on > click ‘share this contact list’ > separate page will load > under permission, click the pull down arrow and select “Can Reshare”.

Check out How to Share a Contact Label Directly From Gmail for some extra tips!


Troubleshooting

I modified a contact detail, but the changes are being reverted by the app?

This is because you do not have the correct access permissions to make and save those edits. You must contact the label owner and ask them to upgrade your permissions in order for your changes to stick.

You are delegating sharing capabilities like a professional already thanks to Shared Contacts for Gmail!

Back to Knowledge Base
Back to resources