How to reactivate the application when the admin is deleted or downgraded?

When the Google Workspace or G Suite administrator who has installed Shared Contacts for Gmail® is deleted or downgraded to a non-super admin role: 

In case of deletion of an admin, make sure you first transfer ownership of all the shared contacts label they own.

Time needed: 2 minutes.

Follow the steps below to reactivate Shared Contacts for Gmail® for administrators:

  1. Make sure that the new super admin, installs the marketplace app again on behalf of the whole domain.

    Marketplace > Domain Install button > Select all organizationsMake sure that the new super admin, installs the Shared Contacts for Gmail marketplace app again on behalf of the whole domain

  2. Open Shared Contacts for Gmail® > Click the share icon of the label to view collaborator status


    Click the share icon of the label to view collaborator status in shared contacts for gmail app

  3. Check that all collaborators have a green check mark!


    Check that all collaborators have a green check mark


Troubleshoot

If users still show as “revoked”

New super admin should go to the admin console, and make sure that the admin is granted for all organizations > Click on the “Sync” button to refresh the data.If users still show as "revoked"

Well done for reactivating your account! You can now resume sharing your labels with ease.

If it still doesn’t work after this, contact support.

Back to Knowledge Base
Back to resources